Announcement, Industry Listing.

Ontario, September 24th, 2019 

Playwrights Guild of Canada (PGC) proudly announces the short lists for its 2019 Tom Hendry Awards. The short lists for the Carol Bolt Award, the RBC Emerging Playwright Award, the Robert Beardsley Award, the Sharon Enkin Plays For Young People Award, as well as the Stage West Comedy & Musical Awards have been released by their respective juries. PGC is also thrilled to announce Colleen Murphy as the winner of the 2019 Lifetime Membership Award. 

Carol Bolt Award – 2019 Short List
This award is given annually for the best work by a PGC-member that has premiered in the past year. The Carol Bolt Award is in loving memory of both David and Carol Bolt. JURY: Jovanni Sy (Chair), Natasha MacLellan, and Rahul Varma.

  • Amy Rutherford (ON) for Mortified,
  • Norman Yeung (ON) for Theory, and
  • Erin Shields (QC) for Beautiful Man.

Stage West Musical Award – 2019 Short List
This award is given annually for a new musical work by a PGC-member, which has not yet had a premiere production. JURY: Kelley Jo Burke (Chair), Julie McIsaac, and Adam Sakiyama.

  • Morris Panych, Anika Johnson & Britta Johnson (ON) for Trap Door, 
  • Daniel Abrahamson & Ashley Botting (ON) for Stars of Mars, and
  • Fatuma Adar (ON) for Dixon Road.

Stage West Comedy Award – 2019 Short List
This award is given annually for a new comedy by a PGC-member, which has not yet had a premiere production. JURY: Rosemary Rowe (Chair), Trevor Reuger, and Nina Lauren.

  • Kevin Shea (ON) for The Lake House, 
  • Camille Pavlenko (AB) for Go for Gold, Audrey Pham!, and
  • Kristen Da Silva (ON) for Hurry Hard.

RBC Emerging Playwright Award – 2019 Short List
This award is given annually for the best play by a PGC-member who is an emerging playwright. JURY: Daniel Thau-Eleff (Chair), PJ Prudat, and Conni Massing.

  • Jesse LaVercombe (ON) for Hallelujah It's Holly, 
  • Elyse Friedman (ON) for The Cole Porter Suite, and
  • Gillian Clark (QC) for Harmony Mall.

Robert Beardsley Award 
The Arts & Letters Club of Toronto Foundation’s 2019 Short List
This award is to be granted to a full-time secondary or post-secondary student within the GTA for the creation of a one-act play script. JURY: Jeff Ho (Chair), Abby Charchun, and Bilal Baig.

  • Alyssa Pothier (ON) for In Your Own Backyard, 
  • Roxhanne Norman (ON) for Jane Doe, and
  • Julie Phan (ON) for Fine China.

Sharon Enkin Plays For Young People Award – 2019 Short List
This is a brand new award, which is to be given to a new TYA play or one that has had a professional production in the last year. Marjie Chud (Chair), Jim Morrow, and Ian Ross.

  • Makambe K. Simamba (ON) for Our Fathers, Sons, Lovers and Little Brothers, 
  • Paula Zelaya-Cervantes & Ana González-Bello (MX) for 245 Acts of Unspeakable Evil, and
  • Linda A. Carson (BC) for So How Should I Be?

Lifetime Membership Award – 2019 Winner
Lifetime  membership is awarded to an individual for their contribution to the Canadian playwright community, and must be nominated by PGC members and voted on by PGC’s Board of Directors. Playwrights Guild of Canada is very excited to announce that Colleen Murphy is the 2019 recipient of the Lifetime Membership Award. Colleen will receive a PGC membership for life. 

Bra D’or Award - 2019
PGC is excited to announce the recipient of this year's Bra D'Or Award at the Tom Hendry Awards ceremony on October 27th!

Playwrights Guild of Canada is a registered national arts service association mandated to advance the creative rights and interests of professional Canadian playwrights, promote Canadian plays nationally and internationally, and foster an active, evolving community of writers for the stage.

Comments are closed.