Announcement, Industry Listing.

Toronto, June 1, 2015 – Theatre director Mumbi Tindyebwa is the recipient of the 2015 Pauline McGibbon Award. She received the award today at the Dora Mavor Moore Awards news conference at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

About Mumbi Tindyebwa

  • The founder and artistic director of IFT (It’s A Freedom Thing) Theatre, Mumbi is a Kenyan-born, Toronto-based theatre creator and director.
  • She is currently the co-director for the AMY (Artists Mentoring Youth) Project and was a 2015 artist-in-residence at the University of Toronto.
  • Working with companies like Obsidian Theatre, Canadian Stage and Buddies in Bad Times, Mumbi has directed and assistant directed a diverse selection of productions, co-productions and in festivals, including the Rhubarb Festival, Luminato, World Pride Toronto and the Festival of Ideas and Creation.
  • Her directing highlights include Nightmare Dream (IFT Theatre/Newface Entertainment, sponsored by Obsidian Theatre), Because I Love You (IFT Theatre/TD Then and Now Festival) and Dancing To A White Boy Song (IFT Theatre/Newface Entertainment/Summerworks).
  • Mumbi holds an Honours BA in Theatre from York University, a B.Sc. from the University of Toronto, and has participated in the Michael Langham Workshop for Classical Direction at the Stratford Festival.

“From an outstanding field of candidates, Mumbi was the clear choice,” remarked the jury. “Her work has the ‘wow’ factor. She is a forceful, authentic voice, and a leader of the next generation in Canadian theatre.”

About the Pauline McGibbon Award

  • Established in 1981, the award honours former lieutenant-governor Pauline McGibbon for her support and patronage of the arts. It includes a $7,000 prize and a medal designed by Dora de Pédery-Hunt.
  • The award is presented to a member of Ontario’s professional theatre community in the early stages of their career who has displayed a unique talent and a potential for excellence.
  • The award is cyclical in nature and recognizes the unique talents of Ontario-resident professional artists who have contributed to the well- being of Ontario’s theatre community. The first year of the three-year cycle, the award goes to a designer, the second year to a director, and the third year to a production craftsperson.
  • The award is given each year by the Province of Ontario through the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport and is administered by the Ontario Arts Council.

Comments are closed.