2020 recipient Monica Esteves
Photo by John Lauener
L-R: Monica Esteves and Beth Wong recipient of the Victor C. Polley Protégé Award

Watch the award presentation and acceptance speech here.

Post Script: Revised acceptance speech text here.

The Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award (LMJH Award), in association with the Victor C. Polley Award is an annual award that recognizes the important work of theatre, dance and opera administrators. Recipients of the LMJH Award have at least 10 years of demonstrated commitment to the performing arts, in addition to having made an impact on the industry in Toronto. The award winner receives a plaque and a cheque for $1,000 through the generous sponsorship of the estate of Elizabeth Comper. Through the partnership with the Victor C. Polley Award, the LMJH Award laureate will choose an emerging arts administrator with a minimum of 2 years of arts work experience who will receive a $500 protégé prize. 

As of 2020, the LMJH Award is presented in association with the Victor C. Polley Award, which was inaugurated in 1981 to honour the leadership of the much-respected arts administrator who joined the Stratford Festival in 1954 as a bookkeeper. 17 years later he was the Administrative Director and in 1972, he took over the position of Theatre Manager at The St. Lawrence Centre.

The LMJH Award was inaugurated in 2008 and is named after Leonard McHardy and John Harvey, the celebrated owners of Toronto’s Theatrebooks which they co-founded over 35 years ago in 1975. In naming the award after Leonard McHardy and John Harvey, Ms Comper noted, “Leonard and John are role models in their support of the arts and in particular the theatre community. I wanted them to be recognized for everything they do and for everything they stand for.”

The LMJH Award winner will be chosen by the Selection Committee from nominations received from the TAPA membership.

Eligibility Criteria

Deadline for nominations: Friday, April 16, 2021 - 5:00pm. Late submissions will not be accepted.

Individuals eligible for the LMJH award must have demonstrated a minimum 10 year commitment and impact to Toronto’s theatre, dance and opera community.
The deceased are not eligible for consideration.

In order to nominate an individual for the LMJH Award, please supply the following information:

  • Nominator’s Name, Title, Company, Phone and Email Address
  • Nominee's Name, Phone/ Email
  • Nominee’s Bio
  • Headshot or Photograph of the Nominee (if possible)
  • Cover Letter (Why you feel that the nominee should be awarded the LMJH Award, up to 2 pages)
  • Letters/Paragraphs in support of the nominee (up to 3 pages)
Deadline for nominations: April 26, 2021 - 5:00pm. Late submissions will not be accepted.
Click here to nominate


Comments are closed.