Joanna Yu honoured with 2017 Pauline McGibbon Award

Toronto, May 30, 2017 – Toronto-based set and costume designer Joanna Yu is the recipient of the 2017 Pauline McGibbon Award. She was presented the award today by Ontario’s Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, at the Dora Mavor Moore Awards news conference.

This award is named for former Lieutenant Governor Pauline McGibbon, in honour of her support and patronage of the arts.

About Joanna Yu

  • Joanna holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) in Theatre Design and Production from York University.
  • She has designed costumes and sets for a variety of performing arts organizations across Ontario. She has also served as an assistant designer at the Stratford Festival (four seasons), the Canadian Opera Company (two seasons), Soulpepper and Buddies in Bad Times Theatre.
  • Joanna is a guest artist/designer at several college- and university-level theatre programs, as well as a guest lecturer at York University.


“Joanna has a passionate vision and unique design aesthetic,” noted the jury. “At the same time, she is deeply sensitive to her colleagues’ needs and the importance of collaboration. This combination allows her to holistically enhance every project she works on.”

About the Pauline McGibbon Award

Established in 1981 in honour of the former Lieutenant-Governor’s support and patronage of the arts, the Pauline McGibbon Award administered by the Ontario Arts Council, consists of $7,000 from the Ministry of Culture for the province of Ontario and a medal, designed by Dora de Pedry Hunt.

The award is intended to assist a member of Ontario’s theatre community who has displayed a unique talent, a potential for excellence and who is in the early stages of his or her career. The Award rotates in a three-year cycle, honouring a director, a production craft person, or a designer. The recipient is selected by a jury through the Ontario Arts Council of theatre professionals, including actors, directors, and designers. The winner is announced at the Dora Mavor Moore Award ceremony.


The Pauline McGibbon Award medal, designed by Dora de Pédery-Hunt.




Comments are closed.