Industry Listing, News, Submission.

Deadline for Nominations: 5:00pm April 1, 2020

The Silver Ticket Award

2019 recipient Peggy Baker poses with Silver Ticket Award
Photo by Anne-Marie Krytiuk

The Silver Ticket Award, inaugurated in 1980, is presented by TAPA to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the stage in the Toronto area. The distinguished panel of past Silver Ticket recipients considers individuals who have worked professionally in the performing arts industry and not only have excelled in their own careers, but also contributed to the development of Canadian theatre by helping and encouraging others. The recipient receives a lifetime of complimentary tickets to TAPA member company productions. The recipient will be chosen by the Selection Committee from nominations received from the TAPA membership, theatre community and public.

Submit a Nomination

The Leonard McHardy & John Harvey Award for Outstanding Leadership in Administration

2019 recipient Sherrie Johnson (C) poses with LMJH Award
and its namesakes
Photo by Anne-Marie Krytiuk

The Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award for Outstanding Leadership in Administration (LMJH Award) was inaugurated in 2008 and recognizes the important work of theatre, dance and opera administrators. Recipients of the LMJH Award have demonstrated a minimum of 10 years of commitment to the performing arts, in addition to having made an impact on the industry in Toronto. The award is named after Leonard McHardy and John Harvey, the celebrated former owners of Toronto’s Theatrebooks, which they co-founded in 1975 and ran for nearly 40 years. The award recipient receives a plaque and a cheque for $1,000 through the generous sponsorship of the estate of Elizabeth Comper. The recipient will be chosen by the Selection Committee from nominations received from the TAPA membership.

Submit a Nomination

The Barbara Hamilton Memorial Award

2017 recipient Christopher Newton (R) poses with BH Award and
Councillor Gary Crawford (L)
Photo by Anne-Marie Krytiuk

The Barbara Hamilton Memorial Award (BH Award) Established in 1996 in recognition of the canon of work that was Barbara Hamilton’s career, this award is presented to Canadian artist who demonstrates excellence in the performing arts and is dedicated to advocating and being an ambassador for the arts in Canada. The Award is administered by the City of Toronto with calls for nominations sent out from TAPA. The Barbara Hamilton Memorial Award is presented every two (2) years and comes with a cheque for $1,500.00 and a scroll from the City of Toronto. The winner is announced at the press conference with the season’s Dora Award nominations.

Submit a Nomination

Ancillary Award Eligibility Criteria

Deadline for nominations: 5:00pm, May 1, 2020.
Late submissions will not be accepted. Nominations should include the following information:

  • Nominator Name, Title, Company, Phone and Email Address
  • Nominee Name, Phone/ Email
  • Nominee Bio
  • Nominee Headshot or Photograph (if possible)
  • Cover Letter: Why the nominee should receive the Award, (up to 2 pages)
  • Testimonials: Letters/Paragraphs in support of the nominee, (up to 4 pages in total)

Submissions should be submit online via the TAPA website

Comments are closed.