Industry Listing, Submission.

Deadline for Nomination: April 16, 2018

The Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award (LMJH Award) is an annual award that recognizes the important work of theatre, dance and opera administrators. Recipients of the LMJH Award have at least 10 years of demonstrated commitment to the performing arts, in addition to having made an impact on the industry in Toronto.

The Award is named after Leonard McHardy and John Harvey, the celebrated owners of Toronto’s Theatrebooks which they co-founded over 30 years ago in 1975. A bookstore specializing in theatre, it is one of the longest surviving independent bookstores in the country. The award winner receives a plaque and a cheque for $1,000 through the generous sponsorship of Elizabeth Comper. In naming the award after Leonard McHardy and John Harvey, Ms Comper noted, “Leonard and John are role models in their support of the arts and in particular the theatre community. I wanted them to be recognized for everything they do and for everything they stand for.”

The winner will be chosen by the Selection Committee from nominations received from the TAPA membership and will receive a cash prize of $1,000 and a plaque awarded by TAPA through the generous sponsorship of Elizabeth Comper.

Eligibility Criteria

Deadline for nominations: April 16. Late submissions will not be accepted.

Individuals eligible for the LMJH award must have demonstrated a minimum 10 year commitment and impact to Toronto’s theatre, dance and opera community.

In order to nominate an individual for the LMJHAward, please supply the following information:

  • Nominator’s Name, Title, Company, Phone and Email Address
  • Nominee's Name, Phone/ Email
  • Nominee’s Bio
  • Headshot or Photograph of the Nominee (if possible)
  • Cover Letter (Why you feel that the nominee should be awarded the LMJH Award, up to 2 pages)
  • Letters/Paragraphs in support of the nominee (up to 3 pages)

Submit a Nomination

Comments are closed.