Industry Listing, Submission.

The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) is pleased to open nominations for the 2017 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award.

The deadline for nominations is April 28, 2017 and the recipient will be announced at the 2017 PACT Conference in Charlottetown, PEI.

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award annually celebrates and recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding administrative or managerial leadership within the Canadian theatre community. It also includes the naming of a protégé chosen by the award winner, underlining the importance of skills and knowledge transmission in leadership building.

As a result of a significant shortfall in donations, there will be no cash award for 2017.


More information about the MGLA, including the 2017 nomination form, can be found on the PACT website, or by emailing  Meg Shannon, Membership & Communications Manager.

Learn more

2016 Nominees
Nominations for the MGLA are kept on file for two years, which means that nominations from 2016 will be considered for the 2017 award.  Those who submitted a nomination in 2017 are invited to update their nomination packages.

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award celebrates and recognizes outstanding administrative or managerial leadership within the Canadian Theatre Community. It was initiated in celebration of PACT's 30th anniversary in 2006-2007 and was named in honour of Mallory Gilbert, Tarragon Theatre's General Manager for 34 years and one of the founders and a Past President of PACT.

Each year the MGLA honours Mallory Gilbert by bearing her name. Ms. Gilbert is one of Canada's most respected arts managers. In addition to her successful 34-year tenure at Toronto's Tarragon Theatre, she has served on numerous local and national boards of directors and advisory boards. Ms. Gilbert served on PACT's Board for 20 years (as PACT President 1989-1993), and was the recipient of PACT Honourary Life Membership in 2005. By mentoring countless aspiring arts administrators during the course of her career, she has shaped the careers of many of Canada's theatre leaders and encouraged the creation of exciting new theatre ventures.

All nominations for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award will be reviewed by a national selection panel. The recipient of the 2017 award will be announced at the 2017 PACT Conference in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.

Comments are closed.