Skip to content

TAPA announces 2024 George Luscombe Mentorship Award Recipient
Paula Wing

Independent Teacher and Playwright Honoured with Biannual George Luscombe Mentorship Award


Download PDF of Release


Toronto, ON (May 28, 2024) – The Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) announced today that this year’s recipient of the George Luscombe Mentorship Award is Paula Wing. This award recognizes an individual for “mentorship in performing arts” and is awarded every two (2) years.

Paula Wing is a distinguished dramaturge, whose contributions as a mentor, educator, and artist have left an indelible mark on the hearts and minds of those fortunate enough to cross her path. Paula’s dedication to nurturing the talents of emerging artists and her innovative approaches to teaching are just a few of the reasons she is the recipient of the George Luscombe Mentorship Award.

Paula’s mentorship goes beyond the classroom or studio. Many of her mentees can attest to her unwavering support and guidance. Her ability to listen, challenge, and propel individuals

towards their best selves is remarkable. Paula invests her heart and soul into mentorship, celebrating every breakthrough and providing comfort and wisdom through the inevitable challenges of artistic growth. Paula embodies the spirit of this award, living out its values every day through her dedication, compassion, and leadership.

“I am truly honoured to accept the 2024 George Luscombe Mentorship Award. Mentorship is about nurturing open communication and forming enduring connections. I take immense joy in assisting artists as they expand their practices and delve into the profound connection between thoughts and imagination within the creative process. For me, the mentor-mentee relationship is a deeply personal exchange of ideas that enriches both parties. I am always open-hearted and eager to learn from the next generation.”

–     Paula Wing, 2023 George Luscombe Award Recipient


The 44th Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards will be held Monday, June 24th at the Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre, starting at 7:30 PM.. The celebration will be hosted by Toronto theatre icon Ryan G. Hinds.

For additional information on the 44th Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards, please visit

About Paula Wing

Paula Wing is a playwright, translator and teacher who works regularly with Tarragon, Soulpepper, and Young People’s Theatres (among others) as a teacher and facilitator. She’s the librettist on an opera-in-development called Arriving at the Fire with composer Kelly-Marie Murphy for Calgary Opera. Paula is a Sessional Professor in the BFA and DRED programs at the University of Windsor and a guest lecturer in the Music Educator program at Laurier University. As a freelance dramaturge, she is currently working with Reneltta Arluk on Pawâgan, a Cree adaptation of Macbeth, and Sharada Eswar’s The Lonely Wife, an adaptation of a Rabindranath Tagore novella. Paula facilitates a storytelling class at the Native Men’s Residence.

About the George Luscombe Award

Revolutionary theatre founder and artistic director George Luscombe began Toronto Workshop Productions (TWP) in 1959, marking the beginning of the Canadian alternative theatre movement. His 27 years at TWP marked the longest tenure of any artistic director in Canada. The George Luscombe Mentorship Award recipient is chosen by a designated committee and receives a framed print by Theo Dimson, a copy of the book Conversations with George Luscombe: Steven Bush in conversation with the Canadian Theatre visionary and a cash prize of $1,000 through the generous support of the Kingfisher Foundation.

For more information visit


About the Dora Mavor Moore Awards

The Doras are named for Dora Mavor Moore (1888-1979), a well-loved teacher and director who helped establish Canadian professional theatre in the 1930s and 1940s. Recognizing the outstanding achievements in Toronto’s performing arts industry, the Doras honour the creators of numerous theatre, dance and opera productions annually in the following divisions: General Theatre, Independent Theatre, Musical Theatre, Dance, Opera, Theatre for Young Audiences, Touring and Innovation.

The Dora Mavor Moore Awards were founded on December 13, 1978, by a committee convened by Millie Drain. On that date, Drain and the other founders (Ann Antkiw, Ronald Bryden, Bill Glassco, Graham Harley, Leon Major, Sean Mulcahy, Peter Peroff, Heinar Piller, Susan Rubes, Pat Stewart and Sylvia Tucker), decided to institute an award to recognize outstanding achievements in Toronto theatre. Today, the Doras honour the creators and artists of theatre, dance and opera productions annually in 43 categories over 8 divisions.

The Dora Mavor Moore Awards are administered by the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA). In addition to the Doras, other programs and services provided by TAPA include: Annual Arts Day at the City, hipTIX (offering $10 tickets to students between the ages of 14 and 29), TAPA RBC Emerging Artists Mentorship Program (TREAM), the Ray Ferris Innovation and Sustainability Grant and the professional development TAPA Trade Series.

Back To Top
Skip to content