Skip to content

Props and costume builder Monica Lee honoured with 2022 Pauline McGibbon Award

Monica Lee, a production craftsperson who specializes in props and costuming, is the recipient of the 2022 Pauline McGibbon Award. This award is presented to an Ontario-resident professional artist in the early stages of their career who has contributed to the well-being of Ontario’s theatre community, displays unique talent and has the potential for excellence. Monica received the award today during the nomination announcement press conference for the 42nd annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards, held by the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto.

• Monica graduated from Humber College’s Theatre Arts – Technical Production program in 2016. Since then,
she has been working as a props builder and head of props in both theatre and film. This includes credits
with Obsidian Theatre Company, The Musical Stage Company, Mirvish Productions, Studio 180 Theatre,
Canadian Stage, Factory Theatre and more.

• In 2017, Monica was awarded a Performing Arts Internship grant from the Metcalf Foundation. This allowed
her to design an internship to develop a variety of practical skills – including carpentry, upholstery,
electronics and mould-making – and to learn how to effectively facilitate collaborative processes.

• Recently, Monica has been focusing on combining her years of prop-building experience with new
technology to build specialized costumes and fabricate textiles. This has led to work as a special effects
costume builder on series such as Star Trek: Discovery (seasons 4 and 5) and Beacon 23.

“Monica embodies all the attributes that the Pauline McGibbon Award seeks to honour,” stated the jury that
selected her for this award. “She is an outstanding collaborator who demonstrates care and empathy for the
creative teams and actors with whom she works. Her interest in innovation is impressive, and shows the type of
leadership which will help ensure success not only for her shows, but for her career.”

• Established in 1981, the award honours former Lieutenant Governor Pauline
McGibbon for her support and patronage of the arts. It includes a $7,000 prize
and a bronze medal designed by Dora de Pédery-Hunt.

• The award is given each year by the Province of Ontario through the Ministry
of Tourism, Culture and Sport and is administered by the Ontario Arts Council.

• The award is cyclical in nature: the first year of the three-year cycle, the award
goes to a designer, the second year to a director, and the third year to a
production craftsperson.

• The winner is selected by a peer assessment jury, which this year consisted of
Ryan Brink, technical director at the Blyth Festival, and Mary Spyrakis, head of
properties at Young People’s Theatre and Canadian Stage.

• Previous winners include theatre director Dillon Orr (2021), sound designer
Deanna H. Choi (2020) and scenic artist Ksenia Ivanova (2019). Full list of
Pauline McGibbon Award laureates.

Back To Top
Skip to content